Taking Chances and Jump

Last week, during my one of my tutorials some interesting questions was asked like “Do you think what you do at university is going to help you to make the society a BETTER place?”. So it took me a long to think about what seem like such a simple question.

I have had such a busy year and I’m filling my schedule with all this exciting things but they’re quite tiring as well. Two things or ideas that are particular daunting: participating in a Model United Nations Conference (MUN),  and the idea of being a politician. Yeah I would respond with a ‘WHAT are you serious’ question too.

So for a person who hasn’t done public speaking before except oral presentation in class, the idea of doing a MUN was a bit of an AHHHH moment. So it starting like that. I was watching a movie and they show a competition where high school students would represent their school and a country and discuss global issue. This intrigued me and I Googled it and out come MUN. Now, I’ve missed all the small-scaled MUNs and there was one coming up which was quite big, the Asia-Pacific MUN. Anyways I thought I can do it and signed up and told my parents. I thought it will be a good skill to have in the future. I went online to watch a promo video and realised that everyone was speaking so passionately and aggressively and I almost had a heart attack. I told mum I couldn’t do it. But by this stage, I’d already paid, so I thought “this is your chance, it doesn’t come often”. SO off to Perth I went. I discover a great adventure in committee rooms. I also discover a hidden talent. So I had so much fun and I’m planning to do it again if any oppotunity comes by. On top of that, I have the opportunity to do work experience with the local MP (which I still haven’t found time to do yet :/). Being a politician is not easy but you do not need to have a major in politics before you can be a politician. Anyways I’ll let God determine that. It is a very scary thing to even think about. It all comes down to me asking myself what to I want to achieve on Earth? And I’m sure a lot of us would say something like making a difference. So that is it. Every time I see a broken soul or sadness or something immoral or whatever that stirs you up and you think to yourself “that shouldn’t happen”.

For me, I know I should do something and decide to do it. But at the same time have to do something to make me commit and not change my mind. Because I’m very good at that. Sometimes you just have to take your chances and do it, otherwise you’ll never do it. So there is the answer to the question above.

Matthew 14:30-31 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God’s Plans for us are so much bigger and better than we can imagine. Sometimes those plans involve things that make our stomachs flip. But we can rest assure that if we are following His plan, there is nothing to fear. Our hope is in Him, and that guarantees our safety.

There are moments in life when it’s time to sit still. Moments when God calls us to stand where we are, not because it’s the ‘safe” place, but because there is a lesson to be learned in the quiet. But there are also times, of equal importance, when the Lord tells us to get to running, to pick up speed, and prepare to jump. In those moments, when being called to step out in faith, we can take heart by remembering that we are not the first who’ve been asked to do so. We can look to the examples of so many in the bible, and be assured that, while the way was never smooth, those risk takers who trusted in the Lord were always stronger for having taken the bumpy road.

Romans 8:31  What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

Knowing that you are God’s child, that He’s in your corner, that he cheers you on….that’s enough to take on anything in this world that could ever stand in your way.

If today is the day you decide to take a chance, I urge you to take a moment to review these scriptures. Take them to God and ask Him to show you how they apply to His plan for your life. Should you then feel as if you are, indeed being called to jump, you can rest assured that you will land safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

